The Manu National Park was created by government decree on May 29th 1973, under the military dictatorship of General Juan Velasco. UNESCO recognized its status as a biosphere reserve in the year 1987.
The Manu National Park comprises a wide variety of ecosystems. These ecosystems are home to hundreds of unique animals and plants, some of which are endangered species. Some representative species are the giant armadillo, the capybara, the giant otter and the squirrel monkey.
Furthermore, Manu National Park is inhabited by semi-nomadic communities, such as the Mashco Piro, Matsiguenka and some native tribes who live in voluntary isolation.


Manu National Park is located between the regions of Cusco and Madre de Dios, in the southeast of Peru. It spans an area of around 1 909 806 hectares, divided in three sectors: the National Park, the Reserved Zone and the Cultural Zone. It has a rainy climate, with temperatures ranging from 35 °C during the morning and 20 °c during the night.


Manu National Park allows visitors to witness the wonders of South American rainforests firsthand. The wide variety of flora and fauna can be observed on the numerous river shores, oxbow lakes and forests that made up the reserve.